Page 45 - complete

The Robert Hewlin Jackson Award for Meritorious Scholarship
given each year to that student whose overall academic record in college
places him or her at the top of the graduating class.
The Hubbs Award
honors a student who best exemplifies the twin
principles on which Birmingham-Southern College was founded in 1856:
academic excellence and selfless service. Preference is given to juniors, but a
sophomore or senior may be chosen.
The Kurt Lewin/Richard McCallum Award in Psychology
is presented
annually by the psychology faculty to the outstanding senior in psychology.
The Kappa Mu Epsilon Award in Mathematics
is awarded each
year to a senior member of Kappa Mu Epsilon who has either a major
in mathematics or an individualized major involving mathematics. The
recipient is selected on the basis of scholarly attainment in mathematics
and service to Kappa Mu Epsilon.
The Raymond J. MacMahon Award
is given to a senior art major who
has demonstrated superior accomplishment both in studio art and in
overall academic achievement.
The Richebourg G. McWilliams English Award
honors the senior
English major whose literary study has shown unusual personal
engagement, industry, and intellectual growth.
The National Alpha Lambda Delta Award
is a book presented to the
graduating member of Alpha Lambda Delta, a national honor society for
first-year students, who has maintained the highest grade point average.
The J. Stephen Noser Interfraternity Scholarship Award
is given to
the fraternity that has maintained the highest academic average during the
calendar year.
The Panhellenic Pledge Scholarship Cup
is awarded annually by
Alpha Chi Omega to the sorority pledge group making the highest average
during its pledge term.
The Panhellenic Scholarship Award
recognizes the sorority with the
highest active grade point average for the fall term.
The Ursula Clark Parson Endowed Scholarship
is given by the English
faculty to a worthy female student beginning her sophomore year who is
concentrating her studies in the field of creative writing. The scholarship
provides financial support to the student for three years or until graduation,
whichever occurs first.