BSC Office of Communications

News from the Hilltop

May 4, 2012

Students, faculty, staff celebrated for year’s achievements at Birmingham-Southern College Honors Day

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.— Birmingham-Southern College leaders gathered Thursday to present their top awards to students, faculty and staff at the school’s annual Honors Day celebration.

It was the first Honors Day for BSC President Gen. Charles C. Krulak, who said he felt “like a kid in a candy shop.”Provost Dr. Mark S. Schantz , visiting speaker Erin Kendrick Stephenson, General Krulak

“I could not be prouder than I am right now,” Krulak, who began his role as college president June 1, 2011, told the audience at Munger Auditorium. “I feel like I’ve been very blessed to be with you over this past year.”

Krulak, Provost Dr. Mark S. Schantz and others handed out awards to graduating seniors; professors who were honored for their teaching, advising and scholarship; and other members of the campus community for their dedication to service, leadership and student life.

In her address to the senior class, visiting speaker Erin Kendrick Stephenson, vice president of development for the Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham, told students that their education has prepared them to tackle life’s challenges. Stephenson, a BSC alumna, said her own experience on campus helped her achieve success in community development and philanthropy, as well as in building relationships.

“My time at ’Southern – particularly the time I spent in the service-learning context – equipped me to engage in dialogue with a very diverse group of people in a variety of contexts,” she said.  

Campus-wide honors:

Donald C. Harrison Honors Program Senior Award, for students in the Honors Program who show overall academic excellence and a commitment to interdisciplinary study: Katelin Marie Adams, Kathryn Ann LeCroy, and Jessica Carolyn Mayne

Nancy and Billy McDonald Outstanding Servant Leader Award, to recognize an outstanding servant and leader: Swaroop Pradeep VittaOne of the presentations

Hess Center for Leadership and Service Distinction in Leadership Studies Award, for students who demonstrate intellectual curiosity, a commitment to the betterment of society and a willingness to serve others: Claire Elizabeth Burns and Virginia Carolann Jordan

Alpha Lambda Delta Book Award, given to the graduating member of the national honor society with the highest grade point average: Katelin Marie Adams and Tianran Geng

Alpha Lambda Delta Scholarship Award, for an outstanding junior member of the national honor society: Brittany Reneé Herring

The Henry C. Randall Advisor of the Year Award, for a faculty member who advises a student organization: Kevin Shook, assistant professor of art and art history, for his work with the Art Students League

Organization of the Year Award: Alpha Tau Omega fraternity

The Dudley Long Leadership Award: One-A-Chord Gospel Choir

The President’s Service Award, given to members of the ’Southern community who show commitment, character, service and leadership: Dr. Guy Hubbs, Valerie Shayman, Cade Hovater, and Charles Alexander

The Turnipseed-Ikenberry Scholarship, awarded to a rising junior majoring in physics, mathematics or history with outstanding academic achievement: James Lee Crowder and Brittany Reneé Herring

Omicron Delta Kappa Excellence in Teaching Award, for a faculty member who has attained excellence in all aspects of teaching: Dr. Sandra Sprayberry, Robert Luckie Professor of English

United Methodist Church Exemplary Teacher Award, for a faculty member characterized by excellence in teaching, concern for students and colleagues and commitment to a value-centered education: Dr. Clare Emily Clifford, visiting assistant professor of English

Richebourg Gaillard McWilliams Faculty Scholarship Award, for an outstanding faculty member who has excelled in scholarship: Dr. David Ullrich, professor of English

At the receptionsThe President’s Award, for students who embody what is meant by a liberal arts education: Claire Elizabeth Burns and Swaroop Pradeep Vitta

Hubbs Award, for a student who exemplifies academic excellence and selfless service: Kelsie Marie Overton

Robert Hewlin Jackson Achievement Award, for the graduating student who has shown greatest academic improvement and made a distinguished record in his or her junior and senior years: Cloe Margarite Roesel

Robert Hewlin Jackson Meritorious Scholarship Award, for the student whose overall record places him or her at the top of the graduating class: Tianran Geng

Charles B. Vail College Fellows: Robert Taylor Bain, Alexander Reid Abel-Boozer, Meghan Olivia Ford, Catherine Joy Gilliland, Terri Kathleen Kast, Charles Ryan McCurdy, Jennifer Clayton Oxford, Kelsey Rhiann Shipley, Matthew Douglas St. John, and Elizabeth Landi-Drake Wallace

Phi Beta Kappa: Katelin Marie Adams, Linda Leocadia Amaya, Amelia Elizabeth Banks, Matthew Alan Barnes, Sara Elizabeth Bowen, Jennica Lyn Broom, Daniel John Burgin, Claire Elizabeth Burns, Steven Clay Carter, Jennifer Lee Commander, Winston Murphree Crute, Melissa Ann Fetterer, Ashley Alane Hudson, Mary Anna Rose MacArthur, Kyrsten Elyse Matthews, John Russell Norris, William Clayton Palmer, Richard Lee Pearlman, Julian Leonard Richardson, Krysti Leighe Shallenberger, Crystal Ann Shurett, Megan Stacey Snider, Matthew Douglas St. John, Brian Davis Teed, Swaroop Pradeep Vitta, Sarah Elizabeth Watts, Thomas Gordon Webster, Patrick DeArman Welch, Janelle Therese West, Shin Xu, and Matthew Thurston Zieman


Close Window