BSC Office of Communications

News from the Hilltop

November 5, 2011

Pulitzer Prize-winning historian to present inaugural Acker Lecture at Birmingham-Southern College Nov. 10

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.—Dr. Jack Rakove, Pulitzer Prize-winning author and W.R. Coe Professor of History and American Studies at Stanford University, will present the inaugural William M. Acker Jr. Visiting Scholar Lecture at Birmingham-Southern College Thursday, Nov. 10, at 4 p.m. in the Norton Campus Center Theatre. The event is open to the public, and admission is free.Dr. Jack Rakove

Rakove, who was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in History in 1997 for "Original Meanings: Politics and Ideas in the Making of the Constitution," will speak on "What Did the Constitution Originally Mean?" "Original Meanings" also won the Fraunces Tavern Museum Book Prize.

Rakove has served as the president of the Society for the History of the Early American Republic and on the Council for the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture at the College of William and Mary. A professor at Stanford University since 1980, he holds a doctorate from Harvard University and a bachelor's degree from Haverford College.

His writings focus on the origins of the American Revolution, creation of a national polity and government between the early 1770s and 1800, origins of the Constitution and the early history of its interpretation, and political ideas and career of James Madison. Among his other books are "The Beginnings of National Politics: An Interpretive History of the Continental Congress," "James Madison and the Creation of the American Republic," and "Revolutionaries: Inventing an American Nation."

The William M. Acker Jr. Visiting Scholar Program in the History of the Early American Republic at Birmingham-Southern is made possible by a generous gift from the Honorable Judge William M. Acker Jr, a 1949 magna cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa political science graduate of BSC and a Senior District Judge for the Northern District of Alabama. Acker received BSC's Distinguished Alumni Award in 1996.

Close Window