BSC Office of Communications

News from the Hilltop

March 11, 2009

Birmingham-Southern College announces Hackney Literary winners

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.—Birmingham-Southern College has announced winners of the 2009 Hackney Literary Awards. The annual competition, sponsored since 1969 by the Cecil Hackney family of Birmingham, is open to writers nationwide and winners are selected by a panel of literary judges.

The competition awards $5,000 in prizes among national and Alabama categories for poetry and short fiction. An additional $5,000 prize for an unpublished novel is also awarded and sponsored by T. Morris Hackney, chairman of the board of The Hackney Group of Birmingham and a Birmingham-Southern College trustee.

Erik Sakariassen of Bismarck, N.D., won in the unpublished novel category for his novel “Honor Song.”

Winners in the state categories included:

Alicia Clavell of Birmingham, first place in poetry; Adam Vines of Birmingham, second place in poetry; Marc Burnette of Birmingham, third place in poetry; Marlin Barton of Montgomery, first place in short story; Brian Ingram of Pelham, second place in short story; and David Matchen of Birmingham, third place in short story.

Winners in the national categories included:

Melissa Morphew of Huntsville, Texas, first place in poetry; Christine Poreba of Tallahassee, Fla., second place in poetry; Lois Parker Edstrom of Coupeville, Wash., third place in poetry; Cary Groner of Tucson, Ariz., first place in short story; Terry Roueche of Rock Hill, S.C., second place in short story; and Emily Jiang of Mountain View, Calif., third place in short story.

Close Window