BSC Office of Communications

News from the Hilltop

April 14, 2008

Helena resident elected 2008-09 SGA president at Birmingham-Southern College

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.—The Birmingham-Southern College Student Government Association recently held elections to select officers and representatives to lead the campus governing body during the 2008-09 academic year.

William (Trey) Cotney of Helena is the college's SGA president beginning fall 2008. Cotney is a junior business administration major and the son of William Jr. and Debbie Cotney. He is a graduate of Pelham High School.

Other students elected as executive officers for the fall are Brad Robinson, a sophomore business administration major from Pinson and the son of Mike and Niki Robinson, 1st vice president; Charisma Shah, a senior biology major from Brentwood, Tenn., and the daughter of Pankaj and Charu Shah, 2nd vice president; Will Breland, a freshman political science major from Decatur and the son of David and Drama Breland, secretary; and Wesley Akin, a sophomore political science major from Killen and the son of Kenneth and Lillian Akin, treasurer.

BSC students elected as SGA representatives for the 2008-09 academic year, listed by hometown and position, are:


Hoover/Vestavia: Christie Harris, a business administration major from North Shelby, senior representative; Sarah Kloewer, a history major from North Shelby, senior representative; Elizabeth Molony, a senior undecided major from Hoover, apartment representative; and Ashley Rhea, a freshman political science major from Vestavia, women's dorm representative.

South: Nico Arciniegas, a junior political science major from Mountain Brook, commuter representative; Christina Gillespie, a freshman business administration major from Homewood, apartment representative; and Mary Catherine McAnnally, an English major from Mountain Brook, sophomore representative.

BATON ROUGE, LA.: Elizabeth Walker, a freshman biology major, women's dorm representative.

DAPHNE: Amy Monroe, an undecided major, junior representative.

FAIRHOPE: Ashley Russell, an interdisciplinary biology/psychology major, senior representative.

HAMPTON COVE: Ben Odendahl, a freshman political science major, men's dorm representative.

JASPER: Spence Dabbs, an undecided major, sophomore representative.

MUSCLE SHOALS: Kelly Gronemeyer, a biology major, junior representative.

RUSSELLVILLE: Erin Bishop, an art/art history major, junior representative.

TALLADEGA: Thiago Zueiroz, a junior biology major, commuter representative.

TUSCALOOSA: Charles (Carter) Crutchfield, a biology major, sophomore representative.

WARNER ROBINS, GA.: Lee Hopf, a freshman political science major, men's dorm representative.

Close Window