BSC Office of Communications

News from the Hilltop

April 19, 2007

Five to receive Birmingham-Southern College's top alumni awards

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.—Birmingham-Southern College will honor its 2007 Distinguished and Outstanding Young Alumni at an Alumni Awards Luncheon in conjunction with the college's annual Alumni Reunion Weekend, on Saturday, April 28.

Receiving the 2007 Distinguished Alumni Award are:

Robert Clem of New Paltz, N.Y., a 1967 BSC graduate, is a documentary film writer, director and producer. He is currently producing and directing three new documentary films, all with Alabama themes and soon to be released. Prior to his work in films, Clem practiced law for nine years in Washington, D.C. having earned a law degree from Harvard.

Elvin Hilyer of Dahlonega, Ga., a 1960 BSC graduate, retired in 1994 following a 30-year career with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta. He then spent 10 years as a resident technical advisor for the Carter Center in Uganda, Sudan, and Ghana.

Jean Pierce of Mountain Brook, a 1952 BSC graduate, has been acting, directing, and writing in Birmingham for the Magic City's theater scene for more than 30 years. Her work includes the musical comedy “Backstage Baby!,” which she co-wrote and was featured at the Kennedy Center for Performing Arts in Washington, D.C.

Receiving the Outstanding Young Alumni Award are:

Robert Aderholt of Arlington, Va., a 1987 BSC graduate, is currently serving his fifth term representing Alabama's Fourth Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives. At the age of 31, he was the youngest Republican elected to the 105th Congress.

Grover Robinson IV of Pensacola, Fla., a 1992 BSC graduate, is president of Grover Robinson & Associates, Inc., a commercial real estate firm which he began in 2000. Earlier, he worked as a commercial loan officer at AmSouth Bank. Active in the community, he was recognized in 2001 as the Emerging Leader of the Year and presented with the Pensacola Area Commitment to Excellence. Since 2006, he as served as the Escambia County (Fla.) Board of County Commissioners, District 4.

Close Window