Page 78 - BSC Student Handbook 2012-2013

73
FALL TERM 2012
(64
Class Days)
Wednesday, August 22; Thursday, August 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . New Faculty Orientation
Friday, August 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Opening of School Faculty/Staff Assembly
Saturday, August 25. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . New Students Arrive on Campus
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Residence Halls Open for New Students at 8:00 a.m.
Saturday, August 25 – Tuesday, August 28 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Orientation for New Students
Saturday, August 25 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Convocation for New Students and Parents
Sunday, August 26 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Residence Halls Open for Returning Students at 10:00 a.m.
Wednesday, August 29 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . First Day of Fall-Term Classes
Monday, September 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Labor Day (No Classes)
Wednesday, September 12. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Last Day to Drop a Course without Tuition Proration
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Last Day to Add a Course, to Select S/U Option,
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
and to Change a Course from Grade to Audit
Wednesday, September 26 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Last Day for Adjustment of Tuition
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Last Day to Drop a Course without a Grade
Monday, October 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Professors Report Mid-Term Assessments
Tuesday, October 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Mid-Term Assessments Available on TheSIS
Thursday, October 11 – Sunday, October 14 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Fall Break
Friday, October 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Last Day to Drop a Course with Grade of “W”
Wednesday, November 21 – Sunday, November 25 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Thanksgiving Break
Tuesday, December 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Last Day of Classes
Wednesday, December 5; Tuesday, December 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Reading Days
Thursday, December 6; Friday, December 7; Monday, December 10;
Wednesday, December 12; Thursday, December 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Final Examinations
Friday, December 14 – Tuesday, January 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Christmas Break
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Residence Halls Close Friday, December 14, at 10:00 a.m.
Monday, December 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Professors Report Fall-Term Grades
Wednesday, December 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Grades Available on TheSIS
EXPLORATION TERM 2013
(20
Class Days)
Wednesday, January 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Residence Halls Open for Exploration Term at Noon
Thursday, January 3. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . First Day of Exploration Term – All Classes Meet at 1:00 p.m.
Monday, January 7. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Last Day for All Students
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
to Drop without a Grade or Add a Course
Monday, January 14 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Last Day to Drop a Course with Grade of “W”
Monday, January 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Martin Luther King, Jr., Day (No Classes)
Thursday, January 31 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Last Day of Exploration Term
Friday, February 1 – Monday, February 4. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Winter Break
Friday, February 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Professors Report Exploration-Term Grades
Tuesday, February 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Grades Available on TheSIS