Page 16 - BSC Faculty Handbook

Faculty Endorsed 5/12/03, Board Approved 5/15/03
Faculty Amended/Endorsed 9/20/04, Board Amended/Approved 10/7/04
Faculty Amended/Endorsed 10/17/05, Board Amended/Approved 10/21/05
Faculty Amended/Endorsed 8/24/07, Academic Affairs Committee Amended/Approved 4/10/07
Faculty Amended/Endorsed 5/6/08, Board Amended/Approved 5/9/08
Faculty Amended/Endorsed 4/14/09, 5/5/09; Board Approved 5/8/09
Faculty Amended/Endorsed 12/7/2011; Board Approved 1/27/12
Council on Education, the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges, and the
American Association of University Professors, speaks to this role. Birmingham-Southern follows the
philosophy and practices of this Statement. The Statement calls for “an agency . . . for the presentation of
the views of the whole Faculty.” At Birmingham-Southern, this role is officially designated to the
Faculty Advisory Committee of the College. Informally, the elected committees often meet together to
discuss issues of concern to the corporate Faculty. The elected committees then communicate their views
to the administration and to the Faculty at official Faculty meetings or by e-mail. Representatives of the
four elected committees act formally to represent the Faculty when there is consideration of, or cause for,
program discontinuance or when a financial exigency may be imminent or has been found to exist. The
procedures for establishing a Faculty Review Committee are set forth in section III.B.8.b.
II.E.2. Academic Areas and Departments
The Faculty is organized into seven Academic Areas: Behavioral and Social Sciences, Business,
Education, Fine and Performing Arts, Humanities, Library and Information Services, and Natural
Sciences and Mathematics. These Academic Areas are divided into 14 departments: 1) Art &
Art History, 2) Biology, 3) Business and Accounting, 4) Chemistry & Physics, 5) Education, 6)
English, 7) History, 8) Mathematics & Computer Science, 9) Modern Foreign Languages, 10)
Music, 11) Philosophy, Religion, & Classics, 12) Political Science, Economics, Geography, &
Sociology, 13) Psychology, and 14) Theatre & Dance.
Department Chairs
a. Appointments and Terms
Department Chairs shall be appointed for a term of one to three years by the Provost in
consultation with the Department. Chairs may serve multiple terms.
b. Duties
Department Chairs work with the Provost’s Office to insure that the College maintains and
develops viable, forward thinking academic programs. Specific responsibilities include the
Develop departmental class schedules and help coordinate the College class schedule to
reduce conflicts and insure equitable distribution of courses.
Direct the development of the budget proposal for equipment/supplies.
Provide recommendations for adjunct appointments to the Provost’s Office—the
Provost’s Office will handle actual hires.
Direct faculty searches within the department. Work with the Provost and the Promotion
and Tenure Committee to help insure that the most qualified candidate available is hired.
Write a departmental summary on candidates who are being considered for tenure and
Insure that catalog revisions are made as necessary.