BSC logo
Student Organizations

Student Organizations List

Honoraries

Alpha Epsilon Delta
Pre-Health Honor Society
President: Claire McIlwraith
Advisor: Wayne Shew
Contact:  camcilwr@bsc.edu

Alpha Lambda Delta
Academic Honors Society
Advisor: Kathleen Rossman
Contact: krossman@bsc.edu

Alpha Psi Omega
Theater Honor Society
President: Brent Irwin
Advisor: Michael Flowers
Contact:  mflowers@bsc.edu

Beta Beta Beta
Biological Honors Society
President: Corbin Burns
Advisor: Andy Gannon
Contact: agannon@bsc.edu

Kappa Delta Epsilon
Professional Education Society
Advisor: Kelly Russell
Contact: krussell@bsc.edu

Kappa Mu Epsilon
Math Honors Society
President: Huda Qureshi
Advisor: Maria Stadnik
Contact: mstadnik@bsc.edu

Mortar Board
Scholarship, Leadership, and Service Honors Society
President: Hollie Russell
Advisor: Susan Hagen
Contact: shagen@bsc.edu

 

Omicron Delta Kappa
Leadership Honor Society
President: Hope Lloyd
Advisor: Rick Lester
Contact: rlester@bsc.edu

Order of Omega
President: Catherine Picou
Advisor: Kyle Lo Porto
Contact: kloporto@bsc.edu

Phi Alpha Theta
History Honors Society
Advisor: Randy Law and Victoria Ott
Contact: rlaw@bsc.edu

Phi Beta Kappa
Scholarship in Liberal Arts
Advisor: Mark Rupright
Contact: mruprigh@bsc.edu or phibetak@bsc.edu

Psi Chi
Psychology Honors Society
President: Elizabeth Wallace
Advisor: Heather Meggers-Wright
Contact: hmeggers@bsc.edu

Sigma Beta Delta
Business Honors Society
Advisor: Rick Lester
Contact: rlester@bsc.edu

Sigma Tau Delta
English Honors Society
President: Catherine Clubb-Brown
Advisor: Tynes Cowan
Contact: tcowan@bsc.edu

 

 

 

Interest Groups

Allies
Mission: : We aim to establish community among lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and questioning students and their straight allies. We also aim to raise campus awareness and understanding of LGBT issues by collaborating with BSC faculty, staff, and other campus/off-campus organizations.
President: Marisa Sitz
Advisor: Tim Smith
Contact: allies@bsc.edu

American Chemical Society
Mission: To promote the understanding and learning of chemistry
President: Jake O'Leary
Advisor: Laura Stultz
Contact: jmoleary@bsc.edu

Art Students League
Mission: Provide opportunities and resources for students to create, display, view and discuss art.
President: Alex Abel-Boozer
Advisor: Pamela Venz
Contact: arabelbo@bsc.edu

Black Student Union
Mission: Facilitate dialogue, promote education of African American culture and cross-cultural fellowship
President: DeAngelo Nesby
Advisor: Erica Brown
Contact: bsu@bsc.edu

BSC Bass Fishing Team
President: Matt Oliver
Advisor: Mike Robinson  
Contact: mtoliver@bsc.edu

BSC Catholics
Purpose: To provide a social and religious anchor for Catholics at Birmingham-Southern College
President: Laura Oliveros
Advisor: Jacqueline Leary-Warsaw
Contact: lolivero@bsc.edu

BSC Panther Cheerleading Squad
Mission: To promote school spirit and BSC Athletics
President: Chandler Grace Terry
Advisor: Dana Porter
Contact: dporter@bsc.edu

BSC Run Club
President: E.P. Stallworth
Advisor: Andy Gannon
Contact: epstallw@bsc.edu

BSC Soccer Club
Mission: Learn the love for the game of soccer, teach others soccer, keep in shape, and play with Kyle LoPorto
President: Addison Brown
Advisor: Kyle LoPorto
Contact: acbrown1@bsc.edu

BSC Ultimate Frisbee 
Purpose: To give students and staff members the opportunity to learn to play the game of ultimate frisbee and to compete with other teams
Meetings: Fridays at 5pm; Intramural Fields
President: Daniel Garrett
Advisor: Scott Dorman
Contact: sdorman@bsc.edu

Coalition for Human Dignity
Mission: Promote, unite, support, and inspire the community of compassion in and around BSC
President: Susan Tuberville
Advisor: Kristin Harper
Contact: chd@bsc.edu

College Democrats
Mission: Increase efficiency of popular government and foster the ideals of the Democratic Party
President: Eman Abboud
Advisor: Mary-Kate Lizotte
Contact: edabboud@bsc.edu

College Republicans
Mission: Effectively communicate principles of the Republican Party to BSC campus community and beyond
President: Paige Holderfield
Advisor: Bert Morrow
Contact: peholder@bsc.edu

Commuter Student Union
Mission: Improve communication and initiate campus support for BSC commuter students
President: Stephanie Esman
Advisor: Erica Brown
Contact: commuters@bsc.edu

EnACT
Mission: Promote environmental awareness and partake in environmental advocacy
President: Katie Berry
Advisor: Scot Duncan and Francesca Gross
Contact: EnAct@bsc.edu

Field Biology Club
President: Cameron Budzius
Advisor: Peter Van Zandt
Contact:  cjbudziu@bsc.edu

Film Club
Mission: Foster student interest and involvement in filmmaking, both on campus and off.
President: Lauren Chisholm
Advisor: David Resha
Contact: dresha@bsc.edu

Garden Club
Purpose: To promote a sustainable lifestyle, specifically in health foods, and to create an opportunity for students to learn organic gardening practices
President: Maggie Gerker
Advisor: Scot Duncan
Contact: megerker@bsc.edu

Global Gatherers
Co-Presidents: Saurav Bhandary and Katie Deloach
Advisor: Anne Ledvina
Contact: aledvina@bsc.edu

Global Peace Exchange
Mission: To engage, educate and empower students and communities to serve in projects around the world and to create a grassroots movement on campus and in the local community focusing on sustainable development initiatives.
President: Saurav Bhandary
Advisor: Kristin Harper
Contact: sbhandar@bsc.edu

Habitat for Humanity
Mission: Help Habitat Birmingham in local builds and educate public about HfH goals and philosophies
President: Daya Parks-Hogan
Advisor: Kristin Harper
Contact: dlparksh@bsc.edu

The Hilltop Hosts
Mission: Offer prospective students an authentic and personal experience on the BSC campus
Advisor: Sydney Hawk
Contact: smhawk@bsc.edu

Honor Council
Mission: Maintain academic integrity of entire BSC community
President: Maulin Shah
Advisor: Ben Newhouse
Contact: mcshah@bsc.edu  

Journey
Purpose: Develop a student-led student-athlete ministry on campus
President: Ashley Bradshaw
Advisor: TBD
Contact: agbradsh@bsc.edu

 

Interfaith Alliance
President: Carly Russell
Advisor: Erica Brown
Contact:  cdrussel@bsc.edu

Love Asia
Mission: To provide a communication and activities platform for anyone who are interested in Asia. To refresh people's perspective about Asia.
President: Vishva Subramaniam
Advisor: Anne Ledvina
Contact: vsubrama@bsc.edu

Math Club
Mission: To promote and support interest in mathematics
President: Huda Qureshi
Advisor: Maria Stadnik
Contact: mstadnik@bsc.edu

Martial Arts Club
Mission: Provide open setting for BSC community to work out and practice the martial arts
President: Alex Faust
Advisor: Andy Gannon
Contact: aefaust@bsc.edu

Middle –Eastern Central Asia Alliance (MECAA)
Purpose: To Promote an understanding and awareness of Middle-Eastern and Central Asia cultures
President: Austin Culver
Advisor: Dr. Schedler
Contact:  dschedle@bsc.edu   

One-A-Chord Gospel Choir
President:DeAngalo Nesby
Advisor: Erica Brown
Contact: ebrown@bsc.edu

Phi Alpha Delta
Pre-Law Society
President: Katie Green
Advisor: Natalie Davis
Contact: ndavis@bsc.edu

Ping Pong & Billiard Club
Mission: Promote the sport of Ping Pong and Billiards at BSC and bring together those that want to experience other cultures
President: Saurav Bhandary
Advisor: Mike Robinson
Contact: mrobinson@bsc.edu

Quest II
Mission: Provide and coordinate entertainment for BSC community
President: Kiki Nolen-Schmidt
Advisor: Kyle Lo Porto/Robby Prince
Contact: lenolens@bsc.edu

Religious Life Leadership Team
Mission: To reach out to the campus community through different areas (service, Bible studies, sports, etc.) and to work with the campus ministers to promote all Religious Life activities and campus ministries events to get students involved
President: Sean Orr
Advisor: Jack Hinnen
Contact: jhinnen@bsc.edu

R.U.F.
Mission: To glorify God by sharing the message of Jesus Christ with BSC community in word and in deed
Advisor: Tom Franklin
Contact: tfranklin@bsc.edu

Southern Academic Review
Editor: McKenzie Davies
Advisor: Susan Hagen
Contact: shagen@bsc.edu

'Southern Outdoor Club
Mission: Provide interested student and faculty of BSC opportunities to boulder (climb 3-10 meters) through expeditions to Moss Rock Preserve boulder fields in Hoover along with surrounding boulder fields in AL, TN, NC, GA and AR
President: Pledger Schaefer
Advisor: Pete Van Zandt
Contact: mpschaef@bsc.edu

'Southern Disc Golf Team
Purpose: Promote sportsmanship along with a great opportunity to create a more active lifestyle
President: Mack Weaver
Advisor: Will Walsh
Contact: rmweaver@bsc.edu

Spikeball Club
Mission: To foster community and add an athletic outlet for students through friendly, fun, and organized competition playing Spikeball.
President: David Goodloe
Advisor: Jack Hinnen
Contact: drgoodlo@bsc.edu

Student Center for the Public Trust
Mission: To focus on educating and engaging future business leaders on ethics, accountability and integrity.
President: Caleb McVicker
Advisor: Dr. Mary Harrison
Contact: scmcvick@bsc.edu

Student Government Association (SGA)
Mission: Plan student activities and administer regulations concerning student behavior and the Honor Code
President: Zack Perkins  
Advisor: Robby Prince
Contact: zdperkin@bsc.edu

Subtitles Club
Mission: Appreciate various cultures through film
President: Lauren Chisholm
Advisor: Matt Levey
Contact: ewjohnso@bsc.edu

Underground Poet's Society
Mission: Provide atmosphere for members to develop diverse writing techniques and present their work to BSC
President: Mandy Shunnarah
Advisor: Dr. Clifford and Dr. Archer
Contact: arshunna@bsc.edu

United Nations Advocates-BSC
President: Dunya Habash
Advisor: Sandra Sprayberry
Contact: dhabash@bsc.edu

Up 'til Dawn
Mission: To unite BSC campus in an effort to educate the campus and community about the mission of St. Jude's Children's Research Hospital
President: Ashley Ritter
Advisor: Kristin Harper
Contact: kharper@bsc.edu

Wesley Fellowship
Mission: To encourage Christian fellowship through weekly dinners and discussions, as well as in everyday life and activities
President: Davis Johnson
Advisor: Jack Hinnen
Contact: jhinnen@bsc.edu

Women in Leadership Development
Mission: Campus-wide partnership devoted to advancing women’s leadership in all disciplines by providing networking opportunities, empowering women through training and education, communicating actively with our student body and community about issues that affect us, and working hands-on with women who need our help.
President: Catherine Clubb-Brown
Advisor: Victoria Ott & Emily Klein
Contact: caclubbb@bsc.edu

 

 

 

Publications

Compass Journal
Editor: Chandler-Grace Terry
Advisor: Kent Anderson
Contact: cgterry@bsc.edu

Hilltop News
Editor: Kiwi Lanier
Advisor: Glenny Brock
Contact: kelanier@bsc.edu

Publications Board
Chair: Kate Glasscock
Advisor: Robby Prince
Contact: kwglassc@bsc.edu

Service Groups

President's Service Team (PST)
Advisor: Katie Glenn
Contact: kglenn@bsc.edu

'Southern Ambassadors
Advisor: Claire Hubbs
Contact: chubbs@bsc.edu

Greek Organizations

Alpha Chi Omega
President: Katherine McCain
Advisor: Kim Lewis
Contact: mkmccain@bsc.edu

Alpha Omicron Pi
President: Olivia Dodd
Advisor: Mary Harrison
Contact: omdodd@bsc.edu

Alpha Tau Omega
President: Vish Subramaniam
Advisor: Bill Meyers
Contact: vsubrama@bsc.edu

Chi Omega
President: Hallie Jordan
Advisor: Sara Robicheaux
Contact: hrjordan@bsc.edu

Interfraternity Council
President: Austin Culver
Advisor: Kyle Lo Porto
Contact: acculver@bsc.edu

Kappa Alpha Order
President: Nic Palmer
Advisor: Paul Cleveland
Contact: nkpalmer@bsc.edu

Kappa Delta
President: Chandler Grace Terry
Advisor: David Schedler
Contact: cgterry@bsc.edu

 

Quad Literary Magazine
Editor: Haley Ingrum
Advisor: Clare Emily Clifford
Contact: ccliffor@bsc.edu

Southern Accent Yearbook
Editor: Shannon Thompson
Advisor: Angela White
Contact: scthomps@bsc.edu

 

 

 

 

Students Offering Support (SOS)
Co-Presidents: Chloe Griffith & Peter Raffanti
Advisor: Jason Peevy
Contact: jpeevy@bsc.edu

 



Panhellenic Council
President: Allison Pratt
Advisor: Kyle Lo Porto
Contact: vapratt@bsc.edu

Pi Beta Phi
President: Elena Goebertus
Advisor: Heather Meggers-Wright
Contact: emgoeber@bsc.edu

Sigma Alpha Epsilon
President: Ross Hamilton
Advisor: Amelia Spencer
Contact: rhhamilt@bsc.edu

Sigma Chi
President: Grant Sims
Advisor: Rick Lester
Contact: jgsims@bsc.edu

Sigma Nu
President: Matthew Webster
Advisor: Tynes Cowan
Contact: mewebste@bsc.edu

Theta Chi
President: Ross Furio
Advisor: Bert Morrow
Contact: rmfurio@bsc.edu

Zeta Tau Alpha
President: Alyssa Bartow-Winstel
Advisor: Lynne Trench
Contact: aabartow@bsc.edu